4 x Careers at ECOWAS

Careers at ECOWAS

Created on 28 May 1975, the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) is a regional intergovernmental organization formed by the following fifteen (15) Member States:

Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte d’Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo. Its Headquarters is in Abuja, Nigeria and its official working languages are: English, French and Portuguese

In order to ensure an effective implementation of its sectoral programmes, ECOWAS specialized agencies and institutions including the Community Court of Justice, the ECOWAS Parliament, the West African Health Organization (WAHO) and the Intergovernmental Action Group against Money Laundering (GIABA) wishes to recruit qualified and capable, national candidates from ECOWAS Member States in the following areas:

General Administration, Conferences, Finance; Human Resources Management,

Macroeconomic policies, Economic Research, Infrastructure,

Related Articles

Trade, Customs, Free Movement, Industry and Promotion of the Private Sector

Agriculture, Environment, Natural Resources, Health, Animal Health

Political Affairs, Peace, Security, Social Affairs and Gender

Education, Science and Culture, Youth and Sport Development

Telecommunications and Information Technologies

Money Laundering and Terrorism Financing

International Relations, Diplomacy, Legal Affairs

Monitoring and evaluation, Strategic management, Strategic planning

Mining, Energy, Renewable Energy, Energy Efficiency

Internal audit

Applicants are kindly requested to visit the ECOWAS website regularly, , where the positions will be published regularly and apply as follows:

  1. Download the application form by clicking on the link in parentheses (JOB APPLICATION FORM) and fill it out correctly;
  2. Attach a Curriculum Vitae (CV) and a motivation letter;
  3. Send all the above mentioned documents to the related e-mail addresses.

Potential candidates must be under 50 years of age. Female applications are encouraged. Only shortlisted candidates will be contacted. Applications initially submitted with only the CV remain acceptable.


The Heads of State and Government of fifteen West African Countries established the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) when they signed the ECOWAS Treaty on the 28th of May 1975 in Lagos, Nigeria.

The Treaty of Lagos was signed by the 15 Heads of State and government of Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Sénégal and Togo, with its stated mission to promote economic integration across the region.

The Senegalese President was represented by the Minister for Foreign Affairs. Cabo Verde joined the union in 1977. The only Arabic-speaking Member Mauritania withdrew in December 2000. Mauritania recently signed a new associate-membership agreement in August 2017.

The ECOWAS region, which spans an area of 5.2 million square kilometres. The Member States are Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Côte d’Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Sénégal and Togo.

Considered one of the pillars of the African Economic Community, ECOWAS was set up to foster the ideal of collective self-sufficiency for its member states.

As a trading union, it is also meant to create a single, large trading bloc through economic cooperation.

Integrated economic activities as envisaged in the area that has a combined GDP of $734.8 billion, revolve around but are not limited to industry, transport, telecommunications, energy, agriculture, natural resources, commerce, monetary and financial issues, social as well as cultural matters.

In 2007, ECOWAS Secretariat was transformed into a Commission. The Commission headed by the President, assisted by a Vice President, thirteen Commissioners and the Auditor-General of ECOWAS Institutions, comprising experienced bureaucrats who are providing the leadership in this new orientation.

As part of this renewal process, ECOWAS is implementing critical and strategic programmes that will deepen cohesion and progressively eliminate identified barriers to full integration.

In this way, the estimated 300 million citizens of the community can ultimately take ownership for the realization of the new vision of moving from an ECOWAS of States to an “ECOWAS of the People: Peace and Prosperity to All”. by 2050.

4 x Careers at ECOWAS


1. Office Manager – Bilingual Secretary (Sierra Leone)

 Sierra Leone

Published on: 15/02/2023
Closing date: 01/04/2023

More details →

2. Driver

 Sierra Leone

Published on: 15/02/2023
Closing date: 01/04/2023

More details →

3. Council Member, Economist (ERERA)


Published on: 14/02/2023
Closing date: 31/03/2023

More details →

4. Council Member, Lawyer (ERERA)


Published on: 14/02/2023
Closing date: 31/03/2023

More details →


Follow us on



WHY SOLAR ENERGY? – 10 reasons to go solar


HOW TO SIZE A SOLAR SYSTEM – 5 clear steps anyone can follow

Simon Tyrus Caine

Simon Tyrus Caine is a solar energy expert with more than 10 years experience in the solar sector. Simon has worked and lived in more than 5 countries. Simon has been involved in solar installations, solar project development, solar financing as well as business development in the solar sector. At SolarEyes International, Simon manages content development and day to day operations of the organisation.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

You cannot copy content of this page